top of page

Member Profile: Ella Cloake

Ella Cloake | Leamington Spa | Senior | Eventing & SJ | Jumping Team Member

When did you start riding?

When i Was 18 months old.

When did you join AGDRC?

Mum and I got involved in AGDRC shows YEARS ago - as in, I think about 22 years ago? I used to do the lead rein classes, and then we just stuck with ever since. I had an amazing time in my teens doing the riding club teams - and even though I've moved out of area, I still see it as my home club.

What horse(s) do you currently own or ride?

Prinz, he's 21 and I've had him for 15 years. He's represented Aspley Guise on many an occasion. Only just come out of retirement to go back to British Eventing this year due to injury of my other horse (who hates cross country, so we don't talk about him.)

What equestrian activities do you do?

Eventing - currently 90/1m.

Do you have a horsey goal or aspiration?

To get to Badminton Grassroots Championships!

What are you most excited about with regards to being a member of the club?

I think it's really exciting to see how the club is growing and changing - it's really positive.

Do you have any "pre-game" rituals?

Ha yes. I can't have 13 plaits, and when walking the course, I have to walk through the finish markers of both the show jumping and the cross-country otherwise I feel really uncomfortable.

What do you consider to be your equestrian career highlight?

Nothing recent! Prinz and I definitely peaked in our teens - he took me to Pony Club Open champs for dressage, SJ, eventing and DTM in 2009. Actually to be fair, I'm thrilled that 7 years after retiring from eventing due to dodgy ligaments, Prinz has had a smashing season this year and picked up two regional qualifier tickets at BE90. What more can you ask for from a 21 year old?

Anything else we should know about you/your horse(s)?

I took a detour at uni to play polo for 7 years. As a result, my dressage position and ability is fairly atrocious these days!

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page